Major Upsets of General Elections’18

In elections 2018, some renowned and pretty mature faces who ruled the Pakistani politics for years, lost their contests. People of Pakistan proved that they do not want to see these haramkhor and chor politicians on the seats of ministry anymore. Young and educated candidates of Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) crushed these prolonged dials by their determination and stability of 22 years.

Although, PTI accepted some undesired faces and gave tickets to them to fight the elections like Aamir Liaqat, Abdul Aleem Khan and many others but people voted the party and gave chance to Imran Khan to grow and be the government official. In the hope for better Pakistan.

Some prominent faces losing the combat includes ex-PMs, ex-Ministers and many other politicians.

  • Shahid Khaqan Abbasi
via: ARY News

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi; ex-PM, lost his battle against Imran Khan from NA-53, Islamabad. Imran Khan collected almost 92k votes wgereas Abbasi succeeded in getting only almost 44k votes. Shahid Khaqan Abbasi also gave application for recounting after Imran Khan offered them to ask if they want but Election Commission rejected his application.

  • Yousuf Raza Gillani
via: Paki Mag

Ex-PM, Yousuf Raza Gillani was fighting for the seat of National Assembly from NA-158 Multan and lost against PTI’s Mohammad Ibrahim Khan with the margin of almost 10k votes. He was elected for the member of NA from that region for four damn times.

  • Chaudhry Nisaar Ali Khan
via: NewsOne

Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan was associated with PML(N) for 35 years but last year he got separated from them. After that, he was fighting elections as Independent candidate from two regions and lost from both by Ghulam Sarwar Khan of PTI.

  • Maulana Fazal-ur-Rehman
via: SUCH TV

Maulana Fazul-ur-Rehman publically known as Maulana Diesel, president of Jamiat-e-Ulmaye Islam was pissed off of his defeat against two PTI candidates from both regions he stood. He lost his seats from the regions he was getting success for many years.

  • Siraj-ul-Haq
via: The Express Tribune

Ex-Finance Minister also the president of Jamat-e-Islami lost his seat against PTI candidate Muhammad Bashir Khan with the margin of 20k votes. The area was considered to be his stronghold but people of Lower Deer this time rejected to select him.

  • Syed Mustafa Kamal
via: Samaa TV

Mustafa Kamal worked as Mayor of Karachi and was belonged to MQM. Two years ago, he made up his own party Pak Sirzameen Party which gained people’s attention in much less time as he came up with bashing MQM and his former leader. Well, he lost his seat from Karachi against the MQM candidate. Oops.

  • Mehmood Khan Achakzai
via: UrduPoint

Mehmod Khan Achakzai was cnsidered to be an emportant pillar of Pakistan politics but he also lost his seat aginst MMA candidate. Along with his own defeat, his party also was not able to gain any single seat in NA.

  • Asfandyar Wali
via: Khyber News

President of Awami National Party again lost this year against PTI. He also lost in 2013 elections. He has rejected the elections results.

  • Aftab Khan Sherpao
via: The Friday Times

Ex Interior Minister, Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao was part of National Assembly from 2002. but this time he lost his seat against PTI.

  • Khwaja Saad Rafique
via: Samaa TV

Publically known as “Lohy k channy”, Kh Saad was ex-Railway Minister for last five years. He lost his seat against Imran Khan in NA-131 Lahore. He filed his plea for recounting and lost again. Now he has again demanded the ECP to open up the whole region and recount his votes. Lets see what ECP says in reply.

  • Abid Sher Ali
via: Dawn

The seat was considered to be ancestral for Abid Sher Ali in Fsd. But, people of Fsd were seemed to be not very happy from their performance so they rejected him. Although he got more than 1 lac votes but against him, Farrukh Habib of PTI also collected votes more than him and was succeeded.

  • Farooq Sattar
via: Samaa Tv

Ironically, Farooq Sattar was defeated by none other than, Dr. Aamir Liaqat. And in other region Dr. Arif Alvi defeated him. He was the main figure of the areas but people of Karachi are now getting out of PPP and MQM influence so far.


Overall, the election 2018 was not a good event for many of the politician and many of them got some unexpected defeats. The thing to ponder upon here is that people are so fed up of these haramkhor leaders whose lives are full of corruption.

Now the question is, either we all are trying to make New Pakistan that is corruption free or we are still relying on our government to be good and not us?


2,236 total views, 1 views today

Related posts

Leave a Comment